Previous Page | Next Page
Author  Topic Next Topic
Page: of 98

Jokelly
Barking

USA
1509 Posts

Posted - 04/19/2007 :  23:31:35  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
AMC, Pixie's right, get all the information you can and don't let anyone pressure you into action you're not comfortable with. I don't know how private schools handle this sort of thing. I have no experience personally with dyslexia, except that my mom wanted me tested in Kindergarten or 1st Grade. She was worried because I was having trouble with letter reversals. Neither my sister nor my brother, who was in the Title I program, had this trouble. The special education teacher, who my mom knew well, said it was because I was left-handed and would work itself out. Eventually it did. A lot of children have this problem, and while it is one sign of dyslexia, it's nothing to really worry about in children who are emergent readers.

Oh, that reminds me, I got chastized the other day by the Kindergarteners. We were practicing our letter Q and I was saying the movement but going opposite of what I should. Being left-handed I make my circles in the "wrong" direction. Well, the kids called me out on it. There is only one lefty in class and so I had to explain to them that because I'm left-handed sometimes I use different motions. They just kept saying "You're doing it wrong." So I ended up just telling them that yes, I was doing it wrong and made sure I wrote them the correct way. At least I know they were paying attention. Ninety percent of the time I don't even think about being a lefty, but you really notice it in Kindergarten when you're trying to teach fine motor skills to a group that does everything mirror image of what you do. You hear of people all the time going "Oh no, my child is a lefty." I'll be the parent saying "Oh no, my child is a righty."

Current location: Laying low at Lupin's

Edited by - Jokelly on 04/20/2007 00:29:46
Go to Top of Page

Siobhan
Chief Healer

USA
2157 Posts